Ethics of self-defence

Figleaf

Ethics of self-defence  

17 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm a criminal lawyer who regularly deals with the law of self-defence and I don't understand your poll question...I doubt I'm the only one.

What exactly are you asking our opinion of?

FTA

If Q assaults P and P defends, can Q justly (in an ethical rather than stricly legal sense) complain of P's methods in defence?

Hm?

An attack on me or my family will be treated as a lethal threat and dealt with accordingly.

Hello Dancer. Welcome back.

If Q charges at P brandishing a big stick, P shouldn't be required to defend himself using a stick in response. P should be entitled to use whatever means are necessary to ensure his safety, whether that means a stick, a handgun, or a cruise missile.

In initiating an assault, it seems to me that Q has waived any right to a "fair fight". P's right to personal security ought to win out.

However, if P's actions far exceed what is necessary to nullify the threat, then he's committing a crime. If P''s defence against Q's attack leaves Q rolling on the floor bawling in pain, Q is not a threat anymore, and further violence by P would be unnecessary and probably criminal.

-k

If Q charges at P brandishing a big stick, P shouldn't be required to defend himself using a stick in response. P should be entitled to use whatever means are necessary to ensure his safety, whether that means a stick, a handgun, or a cruise missile.
Hey! I want to be on Kimmy's team!
However, if P's actions far exceed what is necessary to nullify the threat, then he's committing a crime. If P''s defence against Q's attack leaves Q rolling on the floor bawling in pain, Q is not a threat anymore, and further violence by P would be unnecessary and probably criminal.