The End

Cum Laude

I was working out as a project engineer myself back in the ’80’s and attended our annual planning meetings for the company that I was employed with at the time. In my third year there, as the market for our systems was clearly trending downward, the plan for next year’s business was being worked towards increased sales and profits. I suggested that perhaps we should plan for decline in business rather than an increase and got the big raspberry from the management who insisted that growth must occur every year and cannot be projected as less for any reason.

When our sales took a dive over the course of the next few years (though the projects were always higher) most of the managers were canned, though it did not help sales, but someone must be punished, right? The endless growth model never works and those who do not plan for cyclical economics are always disappointed. When America was at its finest, corporation were run by engineers and salesmen and accountants rode in the back seat. Even the bankers used to be muzzled at least sometimes. Today with the engineers mostly on leashes the fools make the decisions and control the plans. The country is screwed.

• 5 months later...

I agree that we are approaching a breaking point because the economy has been nearly fully exploited, on a large scale. There is a natural cycle of creation and destruction at play. Here's how I think it works-

Company gets created, workers employed, products sold. People make money. Billionaires make money.
Sales increase, billionaires make money.
Sales flatten out, company expands its product line, billionaires make money.
Sales drop, workers cut, salaries frozen. Billionaires make money.
Company fails, workers let go, downsizing, bankruptcy. Billionaires make money.
New company gets created...