Why do we have a Governor General?

I may be missing a whole layer of political knowledge here, but please help me understand why do we have a Governor General who also appears to be "Commander-in-Chief of Canada"?

My understanding was Canada is no longer a colony and even less - a Monarchy.

Why do we spend tax money on maintaining political structure dedicated to a foreign country's Monarch?

And why is the Monarch's image on our money?

Now I'm no history expert but I'm pretty sure USA (a former British colony) has none of that...

Should Canada step above its colonial past and promote its own values as a multinational country?

I hope I'm not offending anybody's feelings but some things just strike me as illogical...

• Replies 316
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

We are not a colony...But She is the Queen of Canada and Canada is a constitutional monarchy.

We spend zero on maintaining the Crown. The Crown has revenues of their own.

Changing all this would be expensive and pointless not to mention the effect on Morale.

Who would Join the Citizen Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry?

I may be missing a whole layer of political knowledge here, but please help me understand why do we have a Governor General who also appears to be "Commander-in-Chief of Canada"?

Why do we spend tax money on maintaining political structure dedicated to a foreign country's Monarch?

And why is the Monarch's image on our money?

Now I'm no history expert but I'm pretty sure USA (a former British colony) has none of that...

Should Canada step above its colonial past and promote its own values as a multinational country?

I hope I'm not offending anybody's feelings but some things just strike me as illogical...

I'm with you here. Why indeed? It's dumb. Just like our senate - elected or not. We have a really dumb system.

We are not a colony...But She is the Queen of Canada and Canada is a constitutional monarchy.