Obama State Visit

There are likely to be many issues discussed as trade, Afghanistan and the environment. One issue may crop up on the first days: Khadr.

Way back, I suggested that Canada ought to have some sort of contingency if Khadr was suddenly dropped off on our border. If the Cuba prison is closed, this may be what happens to Khadr.

Harper seems not to have taken this into account. No Canadian citizen can be refused at the border. Khadr could be back in Canada in 2009.

http://www.thestar.com/News/Canada/article/569285

Canadian government lawyers have repeatedly raised concerns about the U.S. prosecution of Omar Khadr because he was only 15 when captured, while publicly, Prime Minister Stephen Harper has supported the war crimes trial of the Toronto-born detainee.

I'll leave that for Harper to figure out. Maybe they'll charge him with some random terrorism thing. Hell I'm no lawyer, I'll leave that to the crown.

I wonder if Harper has even given it a thought. If he did not commit a crime in Canada or against Canadians, he might not be charged with anything. And if he was, what about time served already?

Who's to say if the prison is closed they'd all be set free?

Since Bush has been trying to get countries for many of the prisoners who they no longer want to keep, you have to wonder if they will want to keep Khadr even if he is prosecuted. He may get time served and end up being sent to Canada.

I wonder if Harper has even given it a thought. If he did not commit a crime in Canada or against Canadians, he might not be charged with anything. And if he was, what about time served already?

It is a NATO war though and an act against an ally is an act against us.

Like I said terrorism is a very vague term, and a good crown attorney could spin some charge on it. Like I said that'll be up to them.