Innocent Man Ruined by "Justice" System

jbg

This story, which I excerpt below (link to article) highights the wreckage that a brutal justice system, combined with a society that really doesn't care about people, can cause.

Jeffrey Deskovic was arrested at age 17 for a rape he didn't commit. He was not allowed to seek his mother's intervention or help. Pressured by cops wanting to solve a crime at any cost, including wrecking the life of an innocent man, he "confessed". Sixteen years later, DNA evidence, and the "Innocence Project" frees him.

Were the police, and other people so touchingly eager to ruin this man there to put his life back together? The Innocence Project helped with a legal victory. We now have a person who is in his mid-30's, is learning how to knot a tie, price-shop at a grocery store, look for a job and take care of other mundane tasks. In addition to comments, I would like suggestions, since I am a successful attorney in this man's county, as to what I, my synagogue and the community can do to restore this man's life. Excerpts in body below:

Excerpts of article:

25jeffrey_a1_span.jpg

Jeffrey Deskovic, left, on a subway to Greenwich Village. He was freed last year after 16 years in prison. (MLW does not support images so I supplied link)

November 25, 2007

Free and Uneasy

Vindicated by DNA, but a Lost Man on the Outside

By FERNANDA SANTOS

As a boy, Jeffrey Mark Deskovic could swim the length of a pool underwater without coming up for air. On sultry days at the Elmira state prison, where he spent most of his 16 years behind bars for a rape and murder he did not commit, Mr. Deskovic would close his eyes under a row of outdoor showers and imagine himself swimming.

For months after his release in September 2006, he had been yearning for a chance to dive in, to test his endurance, to feel that familiar sensation of pushing his body through the water, to get to the other side.